Skip to main content

Radiomuse #11

Radio Študent 89,3 MHz, Ljubljana, Slovenija

This show is prepared by Radio Študent from Ljubljana. The show presents six local acts: Maja Osojnik and her various experimental projects, a very new singer-songwriter Lovekovski, the alternative pop of the musician and video director Kukla, the noise group of six - Kikimore, the sound artist vocalist Irena Z. Tomažin and the guitarish songwriting duo All Strings Detached. This edition contains three interviews with the artists ...



In the eleventh edition of Radiomuse Žiga and Urška from Radio Študent in Ljubljana, Slovenia will introduce you to the work of Maja Osojnik, Lovekovski, Kukla, Kikimore, Irena Z. Tomažin and All Strings Detached.

We listened to the music and talked to the person of Maja Osojnik, a Slovenian singer, composer, electroacoustic musician and sound artist. Living and working in Vienna since the age of 19, she uses mostly her voice, Paetzold bass recorders, her own field recordings, tapes, CDJs, toys, trash, and found objects. She travels through a variety of musical fields, ranging from early music to contemporary and experimental, from jazz to free improvisation and sound art. The diversity of her compositions can be found in theater, dance, animation movies, films and diverse ensembles - Broken.Heart.Collector, Rdeča Raketa, Maja Osojnik Band, frufru, Ensemble MIKADO - just to name a few. We listened to her collaborative projects released on her own imprint Mamka Records.

Lovekovski is still a very new voice on the scene, but nonetheless will be incredibly stimulating and interesting for all kinds of listeners. And because shes still very young and just only starting to put her foot down and show herself to the world, we' have just let her music do the speaking for now … We listened to one of her early demo recordings.

Kukla Kesherović aka КУКЛА, a local artist from Ljubljana but of Macedonian descent, is both a musician and a video director. She has flourished as both, she worked on numerous music videos for herself and other artists, but also other directing projects, and over the last few years she has consistently put out music, either in single format or in form of the album Katarina, which she released in early 2019. КУКЛА describes her own music as slavic gangsta geisha pop. Her first group that also made an impact on the Slovenian alternative scene was Napravi mi dete. We talked to Kukla and listend to two of her songs from the record Katarina.

We also talked to Staša Guček of Kikimore - a collective of six female sound researchers who got their name from Kikimora - a female house spirit in eastern Slavic mythology, known for producing weird noises and sounds during the night. Kati Flowerfields, Sara Mlakar, Nina Orlić, Sara Pegam, Barbara Poček, and Staša Guček met in 2016 at ČIPke – an initiative for women with a sense for technology, science, and art within the Institute Kersnikova in Ljubljana.

Also within the field of exploration of sound we introduced one of the most prolific vocalists in the local contemporary sound art and improvisation scene - Irena Tomažin Zagoričnik. Known for her voice workshops, in which she implements her wide dance and performance knowledge, the philosophy graduate Irena Z. Tomažin does most of her work in the form of artistic research. Her latest solo album - Lump in the Throat - was released by the local label Zavod Sploh in the beginning of 2019 and marks another peak in her wide solo and collaborative discography. But in this show let us dig deeper into her older release Taste of Silence on the label Kamizdat which is inspired and based on her performance The Taste of Silence Always Resonates.

The finale of our playlist this time belonged to All Strings Detached, a local songwriting duo of Jana and Vesna. They flirt with the dark melancholy of the history of rock & roll. We listened to a song from their 2017 record There's Something Painful About The Pearls, which came out on Radio Študents house label ZARŠ Records.


Maja Osojnik

Mamka Records




Irena Z. Tomažin

All Strings Detached


FULL PLAYLIST / ARTIST – SONG (Album Title/Release Title, Lable, Year):

01 Natascha Gangl & Rdeča Raketa (Maja Osojnik & Matija Schellander) - WHERE DO THE FLIES GO AT NIGHT (7 inch single MI CORAZÓN; Mamka Records, 2019)

02 Natascha Gangl & Rdeča Raketa (Maja Osojnik & Matija Schellander) - CHICKEN (7 inch single CHICKEN; Mamka Records, 2019)

03 Lovekovski - Polly Amore (unreleased demo, 2019)

04 КУКЛА - Zvezdana (album Katarina; Kuklistan Records/selfreleased, 2019)

05 КУКЛА - Hranimo se rečima (album Katarina; Kuklistan Records/selfreleased, 2019)

06 Kikimore-195 Ints_ ginzedit (unreleased, 2019)

07 Irena Tomažin - Ne Iz Sadu (album Taste Of Silence; Kamizdat, 2019)

08 All Strings Detached – Superwoman (album There's Something Painful About The Pearls; ZARP Records, 2019)


Radio Študent (, Slovenija

Prepared by Urška Preis, Žiga Pucelj; sound mixing by Samo Pavlica; featured songs mixed by Samo Pavlica; announced by Urška Preis, Žiga Pucelj

Radio station
Maja Osojnik, Lovekovski, Kukla, Kikimore, Irena Z. Tomažin, All Strings Detached